Bar
 
cover


Jo Ann Hattner, MPH RDN
Ann Coulston, MS RDN
E. Michael Goodkind, BA

One woman's story of how to eat right, lose weight, and win the battle against diabetes

 

 

 

 

Reviews

 

Reviews from Amazon on the 2013 eBook Edition LInk

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Real Results June 12, 2013
By ArMar

This book is a must for anyone who has tried to diet -- and failed. In other words, just about everyone. No miracle cures, no fads, it provides simple-to-follow, common sense solutions to weight control that works!

5.0 out of 5 stars What have you got to lose? July 1, 2013
By Marlene Lucas

Amazon Verified Purchase
My underwear and non-stretch pants have been shrinking a little more each year! So, of course, this title tweaked my interest. Also, my deceased father and brother had diabetes and the prevention of it has been a concern for me.

This book has made me more aware of the carbo content of foods and how to divide them over the day to avoid hunger. Losing poundage is never easy, but with committment to the easy to use tools and the advice in this amusing and very informative book, it will happen!

 

Diabetic Gourmet Magazine Marilyn's Diabetic Book Review, Summer 2003 By Marilyn Helton Link

On a slightly lighter note, HELP! MY UNDERWEAR IS SHRINKING! by Jo Ann Hattner, MPH, RD, Ann Coulston, MS, RD, and E. Michael Goodkind, BA, is written for overweight people who are prone to adult onset diabetes, have been diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes or are faced with the risk of diabetes.

Enter Tiffany, a working mother with pounds to lose and a family history of diabetes, who has recently been diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes...

 

Reviews from Amazon on the 2003 Edition LInk

 

Press — Help! and Auxilio!

Barbara Quinn: A book gift guide for your nutrition-minded friends.
Monterey County Herald.
Link

Respected nutrition professionals have updated one woman’s story of how to eat right, lose weight and win the battle against diabetes. Includes sample menus. Also available in Spanish.

Beyond the Headlines. June 14, 2013. What's in Our Food. Hosted by ABC7's Cheryl Jennings. Video Link

In this week's episode of "Beyond the Headlines," we talk about the possible dangers in the food that comes from our oceans and that is grown on land, as well as what you could do to create a healthier diet for yourself and your family.

Jo Ann Hattner's interview on what to eat appears at 5 minutes 50 seconds into the video.

Battling Belly Fat: Why it's dangerous and how to lose it by: Elizabeth Agnvall, from: AARP Bulletin, July 2, 2012 Link

Want to Lose Weight? Follow these 12 tips to shed pounds and stay healthy.
A widening waistline is often the curse of middle age — and not just because it can be unsightly.
Those who store fat in their bellies are at higher risk of heart disease, stroke, diabetes and certain cancers. (En español)

Stanford nutritionist offers tips for eating healthy during the holidays. December 23rd, 2011 Link

‘Tis the season to eat, drink and be merry. ... asked Stanford nutritionist Jo Ann Hattner, RD, for some tips and tactics on eating healthy during the holidays. Hattner shares her thoughts here.

 

Press on Diabetes

Worried about type 2 diabetes? Walk after every meal. Nanci Hellmich, USA TODAY 12:02 a.m. EDT June 12, 2013 Link

A new study shows the benefits of walking for 15 minutes after every meal.

'Diabetes epidemic' declared as New York City deaths tied to the disease hit all-time high JUNE 10, 2013 Link

A record 5,695 people died from diabetes and related causes in 2011, the Health Department said. That amounts to one death every 90 minutes, 16 deaths every day.

The Health Toll of Immigration. New York Times. By SABRINA TAVERNISE
Published: May 18, 2013 Link

A growing body of mortality research on immigrants has shown that the longer they live in this country, the worse their rates of heart disease, high blood pressure and diabetes.

Weight loss key to fighting type 2 diabetes. Food Politics by Marion Nestle, Feb 5, 2012. Link.

Also in the San Francisco Chronicle Link

 
Cover Images for Press

 

 



Home  :  The Book :   Authors  : Blank Forms  :  Resources  : Reviews/Press  :  En Espaņol   :  Contact  :  Buy

©2013 Jo Ann Hattner, Ann Coulston, Mike Goodkind. All rights reserved.  Privacy  :  Legal